paying it forward

I don’t count times people help me

because I don’t count times I help others

ultimately it evens out

but sometimes, some things are more memorable and need to be recounted

on a busy road at work today, a car stalled in the slow lane of a busy aterial

the poor guy who was driving it is an elderly Somali man, standing on the sidewalk

I drove around and tried to help him

I offered to push if he can put his car in neutral

low and behold he speaks no English….I could tell he could understand some of what I was saying, but just like my dad, he can’t reply very well

I took his key and entered his car, and put his hazards on….

and realized…I can’t even move his transmission out of park!

the horror

I was wishing this wasn’t the case because he was already on an incline so it would be easy to push

then a random white guy comes to help…thankfully – he parks right behind the dead car with his hazards on too

we can’t get the car to do anything….while we wait…

the other guy, David, knows more about cars than I do….obviously

he said all signs lead to some electrical issues, not necessarily battery-related,

anyway…I ultimately jump on the Somali guy’s phone with another Somali who speaks English….he asks me to stay on the scene if I can until the two truck comes

David and I wait the full 45 minutes with him until the tow guys come

we helped push/pull the car up the tow truck after failing to jump it

it was confusing, frustrating and it was all worth it.

we’ve all been there before

one day..it could be someone I know.

this has happened before and it will happen again

 

besides…

what else can I use my muscles for if not this type of good Samaritan effort….

Leave a Reply

