FORWARD THOUGHTS

when you told me life was all about falling down 7 times and getting up 8,

why didn’t you also tell me falling down was the easy part…

when you told me the heart of man is a heart of darkness…

you forgot to tell me the delusions of men in their blind passions

when you told me the journey of a thousand miles must begin with a single step

you never told me the first step was the hardest

when you told me to be strong and let things be water under the bridge,

you never told me I could never step in the same river twice

how come you told me the past is prologue

and not tell me what the present is and what the future must mean

because I’m grabbing at straws now and don’t know what to grasp

what to hold on to, what to hold out for, what to give and take

there are things you can never take from me

things you may never make of me

but when you told me these things… thanks for showing me the way.

I will trudge on…

Leave a Reply

